Skip to main content

Candidate filing season nears

May 3, 2013

The 2013 election season, limited mainly to local races, will officially start on May 13.
Residents must officially file their candidacy in the election office where they reside, in person or online, between May 13-17.
The only regional race is the state senate seat currently held by Republican John Smith, who was appointed to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Bob Morton. The race this fall is to fill the final year remaining on Morton’s four-year term.
The senate race carries a $421.06 filing fee. State law bases filing fees on 10 percent of the position’s annual salary.
Among the local races this year, all non-partisan, is the post for Deer Park mayor, currently held by Robert Whisman, who has publically stated that he will seek a third term. The mayor’s race carries a $120 filing fee.
The Springdale mayor’s seat, currently held by Douglas Buche, is also up for election this fall. There is no filing fee for this race.
The Deer Park City Council seats currently held by Ella Harper and Mary Babb are also up for election this year. Harper has strongly hinted that she will not seek a third term. Babb has remained quiet on plans.
Deer Park council seats carry a $48 filing fee.
Three Springdale Town Council seats are up for election this fall. Positions currently held by Nancy Hammer and Harold Love are for four years while the seat held by Joseph Brown is for an unexpired two-year term.
Deer Park School Board seats held by Joanne Greer and Lisa Jordan are up for election. There is no filing fee for either race, but candidates must live in the proper director district. A map of the director districts is available at the Deer Park School District office.
Director district residency requirements (there are no filing fees) are also in place for Riverside School Board candidates. Board members up for election are Gary Vanderholm, Roger Pratt and Chris Nieuwenhuis.
Other area non-filing fee Spokane County seats up for election (incumbents listed) include:
Spokane County Fire District No. 4 commissioner — Roger Krieger (six-year term)
Elk Cemetery District commissioners — Denise McNamee and Alma McNamee.
Milan Cemetery District commissioner — Dennis Anstadt.
Other non-filing fee Stevens County races up for election (incumbents listed) include:
Stevens County Fire District No. 1 commissioners— Mark Whittaker (two years) and William Madison (six years).
Loon Lake School Board — Leona Adams (four-years), Sheila Koler (four years) and Ron Rasmussen (two years). There is also a two-year term board seat that is currently vacant.
Mary Walker School Board — Michael Brunson (four years) and Diana Beckman (four years).
Valley School Board — Crystal Hubert (two years), Bill Wilson (four years), Doug Elledge (four years) and Renae Fitzgerald (four years).
Sewer District No. 3 commissioner — Bonnie Phillips (six years).
Sewer District No. 1 commissioner — Joan Easley (six years).

Spokane County Fire District No. 4, Stevens County Fire District No. 1 and Department of Natural Resources firefighters...
Deer Park's annual street preservation project project came to an end on Friday. The $234,000 project included the...
Northwest MedStar, one of the region’s premier critical care transport services, Deer Park Ambulance and Stevens County...
David Hickman of Richland has set a new state record for the largest tiger muskie caught in state...
High school football teams across the state opened up practices today. The Deer Park Stags will...
Eli and Peyton Manning try out their rapping skills.


Premium Drupal Themes by Adaptivethemes